Connect DATO to Mac?

Hi!

just ordered this device and like to combine with an online drumcomputer. But what’s the procedure of correctly hooking up this device to a MAC? Based on some reading I think I need either a cable which connects the midi out to USB but im not sure if this is the best option. I really like to be able to use the virtual instrument together with the DATO, preferrably with DATO as master. Is that possible?

(sorry, i am a real synth noob, so be - a little - kind to me :wink:

EDIT: I found this mio — iConnectivity, but not so sure it does what I want.

Hi!
The Duo will connect fine with a Mac using the USB cable that came with the Duo and it will do MIDI that way. Then it’s more a matter of what software you want to work with. I don’t really know how other software works but my Duo plays along great together with my Mac running Logic Pro. But that’s kind of a big investment just to play with the Duo. What i don’t know if Logic will let you use Duo as the master.

But, the first thing I would try if a were you, I’d try to use the Duo together with GarageBand. That’s free i think, but it might also be limited in what things you can send over MIDI to and from it.

2 Likes

Thanks! Totally missed the fact a usb cable / function is included. Nice! Odd thing is that I asked the supplier and they advised me a Steinberg midi interface or similar. So I definitely follow your advice first!

My setup will be for my kids (3 and 6) and me ;). Thinking of a hardware setup later on, as physical stuff may be more attractive and for <150 it seems drumcomputers like Korg Volca series delivery well. For now I’d like to be able to delivery beats to the DATO as simple as possible.